Mountainbiking in Norway

“Utrolig”: that’s probably how a Norwegian would describe this week. No, this has nothing to do with trolls, those illintentioned mythical creatures associated with northern Scandinavia. It simply means “unbelievable”. No more, no less. That’s how this week in Romsdalen left us, nothing short of incredulous.

Weather on the move

Think of Scandinavia in the autumn, and what comes to mind is probably gloomy overcast skies, sodden footpaths and determined hikers squelching along while tightly wrapped in GoreTex. And yes, that’s how it can be, in this stunningly beautiful region of vast open spaces. But not this time. After a once-a-century summer in central Europe and some rather rainier months in Scandinavia, the fine weather back home seems to have stowed away in one of our bikebags. But fair enough, why deny it the the chance to enjoy some free time between the mountains and the fjords.

Renate’s kitchen

In Isfjorden, some distance north of the famous Trollstigen mountain road, we locate our home for the coming days. As soon as we step through the door into Villa Vengetind, home to Renate and Tommy Soleim, we have a feeling of “coming home”. And certainly by dinner it’s clear: this trip is going to be a stunner. After a long flight and a longer train journey across half of Norway, one could easily subscribe to the maxim that “hunger is the best sauce”. But anyone who tries Renate’s specialities, drawn from all over the world, learn that this is most certainly not the case. And despite thousands of metres of altitude gain while out riding, our net calorie balance will finish very much in positive. Another cinnamon roll, while melting deep into the sofa? Oh I think so!

Tommy’s treadmill

For the more active element of the trip, Tommy takes over. Somehow, we need to make some space for the next meal. “Space” is also the word that comes to mind when describing the character of our rides during the week. For that’s something that Norway has plenty of. Wherever you look, you see nothing. On bonedry trails, surrounded by stunning views of fjords or mountain, reaching the summits generally means getting off and pushing: there’s minimal forestry work carried out here so you won’t usually find the associated forestry roads. So we follow narrow paths to reach the summits; anyone who likes to push the boundaries on an ascent would do well to pull on their knee protectors right at the beginning of the day.

As if our rides in Fjørå, along the Atlantic Road and to a 400 year old shepherd’s hut above Isfjorden weren’t enough, on our last evening we were accompanied by the northern lights. It was almost kitsch! And punctually to our departure, the fabulous sunshine crept back into one of our bags in order to be able to delight us upon our arrival back home.

We're looking forward to your rating.

1 Bewertung

Leave a Reply

Mountainbiken in Norwegen

Utrolig, so würden wohl die Einheimischen diese Woche in Norwegen bezeichnen. Und nein, es hat nichts mit den trolligen Fabelwesen zu tun, die im hohen Norden ihr Unwesen treiben. Es bedeutet schlichtweg „unglaublich“. Nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Und eben genau so unglaublich war sie, diese Woche in Romsdalen.

Wetterkapriolen in Norwegen

Denkt man ans herbstliche Skandinavien, schießen wohl zu allererst Bilder von düsteren Nebelschwaden, in Gore-Tex verpackten Menschen und matschigen Wanderwegen in den Kopf. Und ja, auch so kann man dieses wunderschöne und ewig weite Land vorfinden. Doch nicht dieses Mal. Nach einem Jahrhundert Sommer in Mitteleuropa und eher verregneten Monaten in Skandinavien hat sich das Schönwetterfenster wohl irgendwie als blinder Passagier in einem unserer Bikekoffer versteckt. Aber man will ja mal nicht nachtragend sein und ihm ein wenig Freilauf zwischen Bergen und Fjorden gönnen …

Kulinarisches

In Isfjorden, etwas nördlich der berühmten Trollstigen Passstraße, fanden wir unser Heim für die kommenden Tage. Die Villa Vengetind von Renate und Tommy Soleim vermittelt bereits beim ersten Schritt über die Türschwelle ein Gefühl von „nach Hause kommen“. Und spätestens beim Abendessen ist klar: Das wird gut. Nach einem langen Flug und einer noch längeren Zugfahrt durch halb Norwegen könnte man meinen, dass Hunger der beste Koch sei. Doch wer Renates Spezialitäten aus aller Welt mal probiert hat, wird kulinarisch eines besseren belehrt. Und trotz tausender Höhenmeter am Bike wird die Kalorienbilanz am Ende der Woche im mehrstelligen positiven Bereich angesiedelt sein. Ach was soll’s, noch eine Zimtschnecke mit Vanillesauce und gemütlich ins Sofa fallen lassen.

Abspecken

Tommy übernimmt den sportlichen Teil der Woche. Irgendwie muss ja für’s nächste Essen wieder Platz gemacht werden. Platz beschreibt auch gleich den Charakter aller Touren. Denn davon hat das Land wirklich reichlich. Wohin man sieht, man sieht nichts. Unendliche Weiten würde James T. Kirk hier sagen. Auf fast staubtrockenen Trails und ständigem Fjord- oder Meerblick ging’s meist schiebender Weise auf die umliegenden Gipfel. Forststraßen such man hier vergebens, Holzwirtschaft gibt es kaum und so führen meist nur schmale Wanderweg die Berge hoch. Wer sich hier bergauf ein wenig austoben möchte, der zieht die Knieschützer am besten schon beim Wegfahren an.

Als wären unsere Touren in Fjørå, an der Atlantic Road und auf eine über 400 Jahre alte Almhütte oberhalb von Isfjorden nicht genug, wurden wir am letzten Abend auch noch von Nordlichtern begleitet. Fast schon kitschig. Und pünktlichst zu unserer Abreise kroch auch der liebe Sonnenschein wieder in einen unserer Rucksäcke um uns zu Hause weiter zu beglücken …

Wir freuen uns über deine Bewertung

9 Bewertungen

Hinterlasse eine Antwort